American Flag

Diversity Visa Eligibility

Diversity Visa Eligibility


To qualify for the Diversity Visa, you must have been born in a country that has sent fewer than 50,000 immigrants to the United States in the preceding five years.

The following countries and areas were ineligible to register for DV-2025 because more than 50,000 natives of these countries immigrated to the United States within the preceding five years:

  • Bangladesh
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • China (including mainland and Hong Kong born)
  • Colombia
  • Dominican Republic
  • El Salvador
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • India
  • Jamaica
  • Mexico
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Republic of Korea (South Korea)
  • Venezuela, and
  • Vietnam

If your home country is not eligible, you can still qualify for the Diversity Visa in two other ways:

  • If your spouse was born in a qualifying country, you can register with them and select their country of birth on your application.
  • If neither of your parents were legitimate residents in your country of birth, you may select the country of birth of your mother or father.


The second primary requirement for Diversity Visa applicants is a high school diploma or two years of work experience in the past five years in a profession requiring at least two years of training, as determined by the U.S. Department of Labor.

American Flag

DV Lottery Online Application

Scroll to Top